How to Reset All Settings to Factory Default on Galaxy S4 ?

If you want your Galaxy S4 to appear as brand new from a software standpoint, you have to reset it to factory settings.

Once it’s done, the phone will go through the standard initial setup procedure that all new Galaxy S4 phones go through.

To reset Galaxy S4 to factory settings, you can choose either one of the 2 methods:

Note: Resetting Galaxy S4 to factory settings DOESN’T wipe out the data in external memory card.

i. Factory reset via Settings

  1. On your Galaxy S4, go to home Settings > Account tab > Back up and reset > Factory data reset.
  2. Tap Reset device.
  3. Next, you will be prompted for a confirmation, tap Delete All.
    reset device option delete all option

ii. Factory reset using power and volume buttons

If for some reason you can’t get into the Settings to initiate the reset, try the method below:

  1. Power off your Galaxy S4.
  2. Press and hold the Volume Up + Home + Power buttons at the same time.
  3. Release all buttons as soon as you see the Samsung Galaxy S4 logo.
  4. In the Android system recovery mode, use the volume rocker to highlight wipe data/factory reset, and then press the Power button to select.
  5. Select Yes — delete all user data.
  6. Next, select reboot system now.
    android system recovery mode

(Click here for more Samsung Galaxy S4 tutorials, tips and tricks.)

* Last updated by at .

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.


Note: The information on this website is provided for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. While every effort has been made to provide quality information, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this website or on any linked sites. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment, you are agreeing to relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your comment by submitting it on this site. Comment deletions may be made at any time and for any reason at the discretion of the site administrator. In addition, not all questions or comments submitted to this website can be responded to.